LEarn More about our Current selection

THE INKWELL
BOOK CLUB SIGN UP

Fill out my online form.

Dear Reader,

The “highly combustible” thriller that will “knock the wind out of you,” Darktown landed on my desk one Friday. I snatched it up, securing the literary rights. A month later, in a heated auction, Sony bought the dramatic rights. Jamie Foxx is co-producing a television series! What’s all the fuss about?

Darktown is set in Atlanta in 1948 when the police department is forced to integrate. The white officers are indignant that they have to serve alongside blacks. The black officers are prepared to take one for the team, if it will “uplift the race.” They soon learn, however, their power is compromised: they’re not given squad cars, they can’t make an arrest without a white officer present, hell, they can’t even enter the station through the front door. When a black woman—who is last seen in the car of a man affiliated with the APD—turns up fatally shot, no one in the Department seems to care. Risking their own lives, two black officers, Boggs and Smith, take it upon themselves to investigate her death.

Darktown is a perfect fit for fans of Walter Mosley, Dennis Lehane, and anyone who likes a good page-turner. We’ll have a Facebook chat with the author on October 17. Stay tuned.

“One incendiary image ignites the next in this highly combustible procedural, set in the city’s rigidly segregated black neighborhoods during the pre-civil-rights era and written with a ferocious passion that’ll knock the wind out of you.” —The New York Times Book Review

How and Why to Join

To join, scroll down and simply leave us your name and email address.

Why? In order to empower black writers, we’re on a mission to get 3,000 readers to join our virtual book club and to motivate the members to buy the same book, in the same week. The bookselling community takes notice when we exercise our buying power strategically. Let’s do it!

Order our current selection, Darktown, now!

EXERT YOUR POWER!

To maximize the effect, members should buy the book club selection within the first week of the announcement!

Join now and help us reach our goal of 3,000 members!

803 members

Interested in having Thomas Mullen address your bookclub?
Let us know at Bookbrunch@gmail.com.

Previous Inkwell Book Club
selections + events

Signing event for Walking with the Muses: New York, NY, July 2013

Dawn Davis, on Darktown, our current selection