Spring 2019 edition

A Note from the Ed/Lib Team

As anyone who has joined us in our offices over the years knows, we love hosting our seasonal previews to meet local teachers and librarians and introduce them to our upcoming titles and authors. Now we’re even more excited to be able to bring our previews to teachers and librarians around the country! From this page, you can watch the preview speaker’s presentation, enter for the chance to win signed copies of their books, download materials distributed at the event, and discover upcoming titles courtesy of S&S editorial staff. So sit back, get your TBR lists ready, and enjoy this preview of our Spring 2019 season from the comfort of your own home, school, or library. Excited about one of these books? Interested in what we’re reading? Tweet us at @SSEdLib using #SSKidsPreview.

Meet Spring 2019 Preview Speaker Cassandra Clare

#1 New York Times bestselling author Cassandra Clare talks about two of her upcoming books: Queen of Air and Darkness, the final novel in The Dark Artifices trilogy, and the first book in a new series co-written with Wesley Chu and set in the Shadowhunters world, The Red Scrolls of Magic.

Learn More About Cassandra Clare's Queen of Air and Darkness and The Red Scrolls of Magic

Preview Spring 2019 Titles by Imprint

Editorial Speed-Dating

Spend a few minutes with each S&S editor as they highlight a title from their Spring lists!

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson

By Quinn Sosna-Spear

Willy Wonka meets Big Fish in Quinn Sosna-Spear’s sweeping and inventive adventure debut novel—for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman, and Tim Burton. All Walter wants to be is an inventor like his father, who passed away when he was a toddler; all Walter’s mom wants for him is to be anything but an inventor. But when the most remarkable inventor invites Walter to be his apprentice, he begins a journey through a strange landscape of fish-people, giantess miners, and hypnotized honeybees in an adventure that will not only reveal the truth about Walter’s past, but direct his future. This book isn’t just a beautiful and cinematic read, it stole my heart away.

HC: 9781534420809;EB: 9781534420823; April 2, 2019; ages 8–12

The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried

By Shaun David Hutchinson

In acclaimed author Shaun David Hutchinson’s newest novel, he takes a very dark premise and manages to bring humor and light and even hope to the pages. Turning the spotlight onto a friendship, Shaun shows through this relationship between Dino and July how we love someone through and around our faults. This is a read for any of us who have lost someone while there were still words that went unsaid. There’s a line in the book that has echoed in my head since I first read it, which reveals so much of this book’s power: Love is gradual and sneaky. It grows like weeds between the cracks of a hundred average moments. As always for a book from Shaun, the cast is diverse in race, ethnicity, sexuality, and it’s all part of who they are without being the point of who they are. The rave reviews have been pouring in from many incredible authors for Shaun’s latest, including blurbs from Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author Dread Nation; Jeff Zentner, Morris Award–winning author of The Serpent King; Francesca Zappia, ward-winning author of Eliza and Her Monsters and Made You Up.

HC: 9781481498579; EB: 9781481498593; eAudio: 9781508268260; February 19, 2019; ages 14 & up

Barely Missing Everything

By Matt Mendez

Sometimes you know within reading just a few pages of a manuscript that you have an electrifying new talent ready to be launched. Needing to be launching. Must be launched. That was exactly my reaction as I started debut author Matt Mendez's Barely Missing Everything. Matt tells the story of Juan, JD and Fabi, all of whom are aching to make more of their lives in the barrio of El Paso. They all have plans. Juan is going to make it of El Paso on a basketball scholarship. JD is going to be a filmmaker. And Fabi, Juan’s mother, just wants to get by. But there are some things you just can’t plan for. Like a run-in with the police. Like the implosion of your family. Like your past coming back to haunt you. Like the realization that you—your life, brown lives—don’t matter. With an unerring ear for voice, and a unrelenting desire to throw a klieg light on how far too many kids, brown kids, are left behind by society, Matt Mendez writes of what he knows, and leaves us with a searing, soaring story that is impossible to forget. Brace yourself.

HC: 9781534404458; EB: 9781534404472; eAudio: 9781508277231; March 5, 2019; ages 14 & up

The Little Rabbit

Written and Illustrated by Nicola Killen

A story made for sharing and perfect for spring! When Ollie and her favorite bunny see the rain has finally cleared and the sun has arrived, they set off for an afternoon of exploring.  Then a sudden breeze whispers past and their magical adventure begins. A companion to The Little Reindeer, which The Horn Book Holiday High Note called “a perfect holiday bedtime story.”

HC: 9781534438286; EB: 9781534438293; February 5, 2019; ages 4–8

From Tree to Sea

By Shelley Moore Thomas

Illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal

Follow the circle of nature from morning to night in this love song to the world and celebration of being alive. Told in a child’s voice, From Tree To Sea talks about the many elements of nature and what they have to tell us, and is stunningly illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal.

HC: 9781481495318; EB: 9781481495325; February 12, 2019; ages 4–8

Just Like Rube Goldberg

The Incredible True Story of the Man Behind the Machines

By Sarah Aronson

Illustrated by Robert Neubecker

This is a funny, dynamic, and inspiring picture-book biography of Rube Goldberg, the cartoonist who became famous by inventing a WHOLE LOT of crazy, brilliant, impractical, funny stuff—none of which ever got made! It closes with a terrific Author’s Note and detailed source list. A fantastic introduction to the man whose name has become an adjective that’s actually listed in dictionaries!

HC: 9781481476683; EB: 9781481476690; March 12, 2019; ages 3–8

Seeds Move!

Written and Illustrated by Robin Page

Caldecott honoree Robin Page explores the fascinating and surprising ways that seeds move and find a place to grow. This exploration of seed dispersal covers a wide range of seeds and the creatures that help them move, from a coconut seed floating on waves to an African grass seed rolled by a dung beetle, to a milkweed seed floating on the wind. Each page has a short, simple statement like "A seed scatters" followed by a more detailed informational paragraph about the seed depicted, making this an enjoyable read for very young audiences as well as older readers.

HC: 9781534409156; EB: 9781534409163; March 19, 2019; ages 3–8

Party Pigs!

Written by Eric Seltzer

Illustrated by Tom Disbury

Party Pigs is a new Pre-Level One reader from the same pair that created the just-published beginning reader, Space Cows, which was a Junior Library Guild selection. Party Pigs is about a group of pigs who knows how to throw a really fun party complete with a trampoline, rowboat, and even a Space Cow cameo! What else do they do? Pigs slip. Pigs slide. Pigs take a big pig ride! Pigs draw. Pigs play. Pigs nap the day away. Author Eric Seltzer’s joyful wordplay is so perfect for this audience, and newcomer illustrator Tom Disbury’s art is filled inside jokes and details that bring the text to life. We’re also excited to offer another book from this duo on the fall 2019 list called Knight Owls, about owls who are knights!

HC: 9781534428799; PB: 9781534428782; EB: 9781534428805; January 1, 2019; Ages 3–5

Kids Who Are Changing the World

Written by Sheila Sweeny Higginson

Illustrated by Alyssa Petersen

We’re excited to share our latest You Should Meet title, Kids Who Are Changing the World. We are doing something a bit different with this title. Instead of focusing on one adult, we are focusing on four children, two boys and two girls, who have done amazing things to help the planet all before the ripe old age of twelve. Kids will read about a girl who invented an app so lonely kids won’t have to eat lunch by themselves, a boy who creates “blessing bags” for homeless people, a girl who designed a device to keep drinking water safe, and a boy who raises money to help save endangered animals. Bonus content in the back will include science experiments and suggestions for things readers can do to help the world, because readers will surely be inspired after reading this book!

HC: 9781534432154; PB: 9781534432147; EB: 9781534432161; January 15, 2019; ages 6–8

Spotlight on Audio

Enjoy an audiobook excerpt playlist from our children’s audio group. Many of these are clips of previous books from authors with new books on the Spring 2019 list.

SSEdLib

@SSEdLib