Photograph © William B. McCullough

David McCullough

“One of America’s greatest living writers.”
The Washington Post

David McCullough’s Awards & Accolades

  • Honorary Degrees (55)

    Air University, 2015

    Allegheny College, 1981

    American University of Paris, 2012

    Bates College, 2006

    Beloit College, 1996

    Boston College , 2008

    Brandeis University, 2003

    Brown University, 2001

    Bucknell University, 2008

    Chatham College, 1994

    College of the Holy Cross, 2006

    College of William and Mary, 1996

    Colorado College, 1985

    Dartmouth College, 2003

    Dickinson College, 1998

    Duquesne University, 2016

    Eastern Nazarene College, 2009

    Emerson College, 2017

    Georgetown University, 1995

    Grand Valley State University, 2001

    Grinnell College, 1997

    Hamilton College, 1996

    Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 1991

    Lafayette College, 1995

    Lesley University, 2013

    Marquette University, 2011

    Middlebury College, 1986

    Northeastern University, 2002

    Ohio State University, 2003

    Ohio University, 2004

    Rensselaer Polytech Institute, 1983

    Skidmore College, 1983

    St. John Fisher College, 2013

    State University of NY, 1999

    Suffolk University, 2013

    Tufts University, 2001

    Union College, 1994

    University of Connecticut, 1999

    University of Delaware, 2001

    University of Massachusetts, 1998

    University of Miami, 1996

    University of Michigan, 2013

    University of New Hampshire, 1993

    University of Oklahoma, 2009

    University of Pittsburgh, 1994

    University of South Carolina, 1993

    University of Utah, 2009

    University of Vermont, 2002

    Villanova University, 1984

    Washington College, 1994

    Wesleyan University, 1984

    Wheaton College, 2002

    William Jewell College, 2007

    Worcester Polytech Institute, 1984

    Yale University, 1998

  • Awards for Work Overall

    New York Public Library Literary Lion Award (1981)

    Emmy for Public Television (1985)

    Sarah Josepha Hale Award (1987)

    St Louis Literary Award (1993)

    Pennsylvania Governor’s Award (1993)

    John P McGovern Award (1993)

    Washington Irving Medal for Literary Excellence (1993)

    Pennsylvania Society Gold Medal Award (1994)

    National Endowment for the Humanities Charles Frankel Prize (1995)

    National Book Award for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters (1995)

    Peggy V. Helmerich Distinguished Authors Award (1995)

    National Commission of Libraries and Information Science Silver Award (1996)

    Theodore Roosevelt Gold Medal (1996)

    Commonwealth Award / Massachusetts Cultural Council (1999)

    St. Andrews Society Medal / State of New York (2000)

    Carl Sandburg Literary Award (2000)

    History Makers Award in Arts & Letters (2000)

    Palm Beach Laureate Award (2002)

    The Holland Society Gold Medal for Distinguished Literacy Achievement (2002)

    Dutch Treat Club Gold Medal for Lifetime Creative Achievement (2002)

    Jefferson Award (2003)

    Boston Patriot Award (2003)

    American Journey Award / Boston Center for Adult Education (2003)

    National Archives Records of Achievement Award (2004)

    Hiett Prize/Dallas Institute of Humanities & Culture (2005)

    Nashville Public Library Literacy Award (2005)

    National Reading Advocacy Award (2005)

    American Academy of Arts & Letters (2006)

    Aspen Institute Public Service Award (2006)

    Presidential Medal of Freedom (2006)

    Samuel Eliot Morison Award (2007)

    America and the Sea Award (2007)

    Union League of NY Annual History Award (2007)

    NYHS History Makers Award (2007)

    National Institute of Social Sciences Gold Medal Award (2007)

    The Christopher Award (2008)

    Living Legend of the Library of Congress Award (2008)

    Chicago Tribune Literary Achievement Prize (2008)

    Janet Weis Fellow (Bucknell University) (2008)

    Chautauqua Institution’s President’s Medal (2009)

    The Salvatori Prize (2009)

    National Arts Club Medal of Honor for Literature (2010)

    John F. Kennedy Award, Holyoke St. Patrick’s Day Parade (2011)

    Johnstown Heritage Assoc. Outstanding Achievement Award (2011)

    Vergennes Achievement Award, French-American Foundation (2011)

    The Merrill Award, A.C.T.A. (2011)

    The Lafayette Prize, French-American Cultural Foundation (2011)

    American Ireland Fund Award (2011)

    Vergennes Achievement Award, The French-American Foundation (2011)

    The Lafayette Prize, French-American Cultural Foundation (2011)

    Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Award, Society of American Historians (2012)

    Gold Medal for Biography, American Academy of Arts & Letters (2012)

    Founder’s Award for Exemplary Service to History, Historical Society of Penn. (2012)

    Inaugural Honorary Fellow, Utah Valley University (2012)

    New Englander of the Year Award, The New England Council (2012)

    Honorary Yale Whiffenpoof (2012)

    Charbonnier Award, Federation of Alliances Françaises (2012)

    Common Wealth Award of Distinguished Service, Common Wealth Trust (2013)

    Distinguished Bostonian Award, Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce (2013)

    The Newberry Award, The Newberry Library (2013)

    The David McCullough Bridge, City of Pittsburgh (2013)

    The Cosmos Club Award (2013)

    Reagan Distinguished American Award, Jonathan Club (2014)

    American Ireland Fund Chairman’s Award (2014)

    John F. Kennedy Medal, Massachusetts Historical Society (2014)

    French Legion of Honor Award (2014)

    Antiques Dealers’ Association Award of Merit (2015)

    Charleston Library Society Founders Award (2015)

    Empire State Archives and History Award (2015)

    Phi Beta Kappa Society Distinguished Service to Humanities Award (2015)

    SMU Tower Medal of Freedom Award (2015)

    U.S. Capitol Historical Society Freedom Award (2016)

    John Dolibois History Prize, The Lane Libraries (2016)

    Saint-Gaudens Medal, Saint-Gaudens Memorial (2016)

    National Park Service Honorary Ranger Award, Saint-Gaudens Nat. Historic Site (2016)

    Spirit of the American Revolution Award, Museum of the American Revolution (2016)

    Gold Good Citizenship Medal, Sons of the American Revolution (2017)

    Ken Burns American Heritage Prize, American Prairie Reserve (2017)

    American Spirit Award, National WWII Museum (2017)

  • Awards for Work in Historic Preservation

    Robin W. Winks Award for Enhancing Public Understanding of National Parks (2003)

    The Robert Smith Award / Christ Church (Philadelphia) Preservation Trust (2004)

Awards by Book

David McCullough

Sign up for David McCullough author alerts

Fill out my online form.

Author photograph © William B. McCullough